LTC Online Texas
Our Texas License to Carry Online Course is an interactive, video-based class that will teach you the legal requirements and history of carrying a Handgun in Texas. You’ll also learn how to promote self-defense and keeping it accessible when you need it most.
The State of Texas has made it easier to get your Texas License to Carry license, formally Texas Concealed Carry Permit thanks to House Bill 3748. Texas Conceal & Carry is authorized by this law so that they can deliver the classroom instruction portion online and administer written exams in a more convenient format- completely on our site! You don’t even need formal training anymore because we’ve got you covered with our certification under GC 411 188/190 which means all those who pass will be able take one step closer towards defending themselves against any possible attacker or victimization while out exercising Your Second Amendment Right.
Upon successful completion, you will be provided with a signed copy of your LTC-101 form which will have to be submitted to Texas DPS in order to receive your card.
The course provides unlimited access to the material, so you can study on your own time and pace. In order for certification there must be a score of 70% but can retake exam as many times needed.
Anyone wanting to carry in Texas should get a Texas license to carry so you are not bound by the restrictions and limitations that come with carrying without a license. You are always better off and have more protections when you have a Texas license to carry.
The following map highlights the U.S. states that currently honor the Texas LTC (aka concealed carry permit).
Yes. We are certified under TX GC 411.188 & 411.190 to administer the online License to Carry Course.
In 2017 Texas Legislature passed a bill allowing for the classroom portion of the Texas LTC course to be taught online by a select group of approved online course providers.
Texas Government Code Chapter 411, Subchapter H sets out the eligibility criteria that must be met. Applicants must be at least 21 years of age (unless active duty military) and must meet Federal qualifications to purchase a handgun. A number of factors may make individuals ineligible to obtain a license, such as: felony convictions, some misdemeanor convictions, including charges that resulted in probation or deferred adjudication; certain pending criminal charges; chemical or alcohol dependency; certain types of psychological diagnoses, and protective or restraining orders. The state eligibility requirements can be found in GC §411.172. The federal firearms disqualifiers can be found in 18 USC 44 §922.
Simply register using your smart phone or computer. After you pay you will be taken to the training dashboard where you can begin the training and certification exam.
The DPS should issue your license within 60 days of receiving the completed application packet.
No. Per Texas Government Code §411.173, legal residents of another state or persons who relocate to Texas with the intent to establish residency may obtain an LTC. Those individuals must submit an application, pay the required fees, successfully complete the required training in Texas and submit all supporting documents. They also must submit form LTC-6, two passport-style photos and a copy of their out of state driver license or state-issued identification card. Note, however, that all LTC applicants must be legal residents of Texas or another state.
Initial license is valid for four years. Renewal license is good for 5 years.
Based on our most recent research, the USCCA has identified just two states with statutes against carrying a concealed firearm while wearing a mask: California and Illinois. Although we have not conducted an exhaustive search we recommend that you reach out to your local law enforcement office or district attorney.